HELP Bella Bleu


Please Help Bella Bleu!

Bella

A fund raiser has started at fundable.com for a precious little Chihuahua named Bella Bleu.  She is seriously in need of medical attention and I don’t have the funds to cover these costs.

If you could go to this link: http://www.fundable.com/groupactions/groupaction.2008-11-16.6675150720 and donate at least 10 dollars, I may be able to afford to help my sweet dog.  Please copy and send this link to everyone you know that cares about animals.

There is a deadline of December 10th to meet on this fund raising site.  So please donate and please share this information as soon as possible.  The sooner donations start coming in — The sooner more people on the site may take notice and also help.  Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Her Story:

When she turned 6 months old, I took her into the vet to have her spayed.  The vet advised me (as she does for all of her patients) to have lab work on her before surgery to make sure there would not be any complications.  After dropping her off for surgery that morning, I treated myself to breakfast at the Cracker Barrel.  That’s when I received the call from the vet.  She said that she could not perform the surgery on Bella until further lab work was done.  Because Bella’s liver enzyme levels were triple what the normal level should be.  That day I thought I might lose Bella.  I sat in the vet’s office and tried to hold back tears – my heart was breaking.  Little did I know that it would be years of torment for all of us, especially for Bella.  The vet suggested I follow up with the lab work 2 or 3 times (once again at her office and then again to be sent out to another lab).  But the test all showed abnormalities.  In the process of waiting through all of these tests, Bella developed another problem.  She started having seizures because her blood sugar would drop.  She goes into a frozen state; teeth clamped tightly, body stiff, shaking terribly, she cannot not move at all.  If someone were not around to give her syrup, she could go into a diabetic coma and die.  I told the vet about these seizures and she said that giving syrup was sufficient and to keep her on a very strict diet.  The vet then advised me to take Bella to an internist and have an ultrasound done.  Even though I only had one option to pay for the test, through a credit card (which I’d already spent around 500 dollars just for the testing and visits to the vet), I had to make the appointment with the internist.  The internist looked over Bella’s previous labs and said that there was not enough evidence to warrant an ultra sound, but she would run the test again at their lab and go from there.  Their lab showed the same results, but the internist said to just keep following up with the test every 6 months to monitor changes because she knew the financial situation would not allow me to pay the 600 dollar ultra sound bill.

To this very day, Bella has had to endure the seizures and continuation of lab tests which are not pleasant (they have to draw blood directly from her neck every time).  This last visit to the vet was the same except the vet finally did a check on Bella’s blood sugar level.  It was extremely low and sugar was found in her urine.  She said that I need to go back to see the internist and have the ultra sound so that I can get her spayed and a liver biopsy.  Well, after going through the entire amount allowed on the credit card – I don’t have the money even for the internist office visit, much less for the 600 dollar ultra sound and then the 400 dollar spay and liver biopsy costs.  This is why I am reaching out to you.  Please help save my precious Bella Bleu.  Her life will be cut very short, if I cannot get the ultra sound and the spay and liver biopsy.  Please help her to have the happy and normal life she so deserves.  Your financial assistance and your prayers will be greatly appreciated.

Please Donate Today:


2 Comments »

  1. lana Said:

    hi, i just wanted to let you know that i adore your blog and think all of your entries are very sweet and funny.

    • kajuma Said:

      Thanks for the compliment Lana.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

